Bullet journal weekly

Finally, we come to my favourite spread – the mighty weeklies! (Bytheway if you want to watch how I paint these spreads, head over here). I love weekly spread and it’s the most used because it gives me the most space to write everything I need to do and at the same time limits me to the extent that is kinda doable – if I have a whole page for a day I will fill it up… and then feel defeated when I will not be able to cross even half of the tasks… Does that happen to anyone else or am I the only weirdo? Somehow in my mind, I let the size of the planning space determine how long the day lasts:D…

Simple vertical layout with painted initials for the days.
Simple vertical layout with painted initials for the days.

There are tons of different layouts for the weeklies. I shared my thumbnail sketches for the weeklies and monthlies here but they are really thumbnail – just so that I know where to position the elements (days, headers and decoration)… but they come very handily when I want some variability in my planning:). You can plan vertically as in the first photo or horizontally as in the next one – and those are the best for people who like to have things in rows and/or need guidelines to write – the dots or lines really help!

A horizontal layout - I like that better than the vertical but it's still not my favourite. You could use the space in the upper-left for some decoration or the week header. Some people also use it to write the name of the month to orient in their bujo quickly when flipping through it.
A horizontal layout – I like that better than the vertical but it’s still not my favourite. You could use the space in the upper-left for some decoration or the week header. Some people also use it to write the name of the month to orient in their bujo quickly when flipping through it.

If I had to do one spread all the time, though, it would be this one below. I love this layout! I love circles, I love the central focus and the space around and that you don’t have to be exact when placing the days – it doesn’t matter if one gets a bit more space – some days are really busy and others are not – so “all the same” doesn’t work that well for me… So I recommend trying out different styles and different layouts, positions of elements,… until you find something that just feels “you” and you feel comfortable with it. Then you venture out as much as you want but not from need but from share curiosity:)

My favourite layout - I like the blocks of space for the days and the fact that it's quite flexible - it's not so rigorous where one day starts and the other ends - so if one day is very busy it can eat into the next one - which is harder to do with the other two layouts. You can also squeeze some days closer and give more space to the day you know will have a lot of bullets ahead of time which is very practical for me...
My favourite layout – I like the blocks of space for the days and the fact that it’s quite flexible – it’s not so rigorous where one day starts and the other ends – so if one day is very busy it can eat into the next one – which is harder to do with the other two layouts. You can also squeeze some days closer and give more space to the day you know will have a lot of bullets ahead of time which is very practical for me…

There are many variations in weeklies beyond the placement of decoration – i.e. how many days you put in your planner – just the workdays, workdays and one space for the weekend or each day get its own space (I usually go with the last one because there’s just so much to do during the weekend and I usually work during the weekend as well, but for the end of January I want to have one weekend a bit less busy so I tried this spread – let’s see if it will work or will I just cram more stuff into the little space:D).

A very simple layout that also gives a lot of flexibility. If you want to force yourself to take a weekend off, maybe try one with just one space for the weekend or eliminate it altogether;). I will let you know if it worked;).
A very simple layout that also gives a lot of flexibility. If you want to force yourself to take a weekend off, maybe try one with just one space for the weekend or eliminate it altogether;). I will let you know if it worked;).

Of course, you can play with titles and headers of the days to your heart’s content! I usually just write them down because I love to paint and then I run out of time:D. But I would love to and plan to put more effort into it (I have a whole Pinterest board about lettering, fonts etc… – a lot for someone who just dabbles in that:D)
You could stamp your letters like in the second picture and I show you how to do that in my video, take a look:)) or you could just try your hand at lettering or simply scribble down the names of the days in your own handwriting. If it’s really messy, try block capital letters😉 (don’t ask how I came to that:) – when I was studying at the university, I knew I know for 10 (maximum) when I could read my own notes from class:D. So, yea, I use block capitals for all the headers everywhere:D)… You can put the headers into a box, make a drop shadow etc… but let’s leave that for another time as this is getting long enough, shall we? So stay tuned for that:)

Leave a Comment