Radish

Noche de los rabanos
There’s a little city in Mexico, called Oaxaca (well, it’s actually the size of our capital – but by their standards that is a small city;)) known for their festival of carved radishes. It all started as a gimmick to attract customers to their woodcarving products that the town is known for but quickly grew into a large event that people come to see from far away!

That is radish carving I would feel capable of… Shall we try it with our kids?

The radishes have to be carved in a very narrow time window because they start to wilt very quickly. Some people buy them for their Christmas table decoration, some people make them just for the competition (large fields are sewed with radishes just for this purpose)… I have never heard of this tradition before but I would really like to try it with kids – something simple, though… Carving a nativity scene seems a bit too much for me;) I’ll be happy with a little “radish man” on my illustration;).

Leave a Comment